If you’ve decided that the funky effects of Instagram are no longer for you, you might want to delete your account.
Fortunately, deleting your Instagram account is easy: you need to just follow a few steps in the correct order. In this article we show how to quickly and permanently delete your Instagram account.
On a related note, here is How to delete your Facebook account.
Back up your photos
Before you delete Instagram, you should decide whether you want to back up all your photos first. You may have copies of the images saved elsewhere, but it’s probably worth checking.
You can log into the Instagram website and drag your photos one at a time to a Finder folder, and if you’re just saving one or two this is the simplest approach. But if you’d like to back up everything on you Instagram account, you’re better off looking for a batch saver.
Batch Media Saver from Instagram is a Chrome extension that you’ll need to install first, and will then allow you to back up all the photos on your Instagram with one click.
Delete your Instagram account from the website
Sadly there is no way to delete your Instagram account directly from the iPhone app. Instead you need to open a web browser on your Mac and delete your instagram account from there.
Here are the steps you need to take to delete Instagram.
- Go the Delete Your Account web page.
- Annoyingly, you have to select a reason for deleting the account. But you can just go for ‘Something else’.
- Once you choose this, the password entry field appears. Put your password in.
- Now click ‘Permanently delete my account’ at the bottom of the page.
That’s it. Your Instagram account is now permanently deleted. All of the photos you have added to this account have been deleted, and there is no way to reactivate your account. So please make sure to back up your photos first.
You may now be in the market for a new social network to fill the void. If that is the case, have a look at our guide to the Best alternatives to Instagram.